What is the Early Years Foundation Stage? 

Here at Active Kids Nursery Hove we implement the EYFS, which is how the Government describe the standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years. This Framework exits to support all professionals working in the childcare, and helps us to make regular assessment on each child’s development.

Children develop quickly in the early years, and here at Active Kids Nursery Hove our aim is to do all we can to help children have the best possible start in life. Children have a right to learn in the provision which enables them to develop their personalities, talents and abilities irrespective of ethnicity, culture or religion, home language, family background, learning difficulties, disabilities or gender.

 This guidance helps adults to understand and support each individual child’s development pathway.

EYFS Framework supports an integrated approach to early learning and care. It gives all professionals a set of common principles and commitments to deliver quality early education and childcare experiences to all children.

As well as being the core document for all professionals working in the foundation years, the EYFS framework gives mums and dads confidence that regardless of where they choose for their child’s early education, they can be assured that the same statutory commitments and principles will underpin their child’s learning and development experience.

It sets out:

  • The legal welfare requirements that everyone registered to look after children must follow to keep your child safe and promote their welfare
  • The 7 areas of learning and development which guide professionals engagement with your child’s play and activities as they learn new skills and knowledge
  • Assessments that will tell you about your child’s progress through the EYFS
  • Expected levels that your child should reach at age 5, usually the end of the reception year; these expectations are called the “Early Learning Goals”

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

Children should develop confident in the 3 prime areas first, because those are the most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical development
  • Personal development

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in the 4 specific area:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

The key person uses these 7 areas to plan for your child’s learning. The person that supports your child, make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs. This should be flexible so your child’s unique needs and interest are being followed. Children learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outdoors.